The 2021 Soul Train Awards Celebrates 34 Years

November 28, 2021

Story by Dominique Hanson; Photo by PopCulture/ ViacomeCBS

Back for the 34th annual ceremony, the Soul Train Awards are airing from Harlem's Apollo Theater.  

While additionally celebrating 50 years of Soul Train, the award show will bring back its Soul Cypher freestyle that was started by Erykah Badu in 2015. This year’s cypher will pay tribute to Aaliyah while using her famous “Rock the Boat” beat to freestyle over.

DJ D-Nice, Musiq Soulchild, Jac Ross, Kory Hawthorne, Elle Varner and Tone Stith will all be participating in the cypher.

Hosted by Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold, the Soul Train Awards will surely be a night to remember with appearances by Ciara, Russell Wilson, El Debarge, Ja Rule, Jazmine Sullivan, Normani and many other famous faces. As for the lineup of performers, names like Ari Lennox, Ashanti, Maxwell, Silk Sonic, Summer Walker, etc. will be hitting the stage.

While hitting the stage will be an honor in itself, Maxwell will also be celebrating the honor of taking home the Legend Award this year.

After the show, DJ Cassidy's Pass The Mic will hold a special televised afterparty on BET to help celebrate the many years of history for both Soul Train and the Soul Train Awards.

The event can be watched on BET, BET Her, MTV2 and VH1.